All about an Italian adventure that started in Soriano nel Cimino

 

 

All about an Italian adventure starting with the buying of an apartment in Soriano nel Cimino and the adventures and explorations, both historic and gastronomic that ensue. http://www.apartmentsoriano.com

My travels begin in Soriano nel Cimino

Travelling is my passion. It fulfills a need to see, hear, smell, taste and experience first hand different ways of living and thinking and being. I had always dreamed of buying some small place in France or Italy.In 2003 a life changing event occured and I was able to realise my dream! Italy was my choice, somewhere within an hour or so of Rome as both my husband and I were in love with Rome, the eternal city, a city with infinite layers to explore. As we would be flying in from Australia we wanted an apartnment within 2 hours of Rome airport. Of course, I had a checklist that included: an apartment that did not need major work within the Centro Storico in a reasonable sized hill town within easy reach of a provincial capital, with public transport, fresh fruit and vegetable shops, butchers, at least 2 bars and local restaurants etc etc. In addition I wanted an apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Well, it is hard to believe but this is exactly what we found in Soriano nel Cimino! Every year we visit for 4 months and revel in the life of this genuine Italian place that hosts the most marvelous Chestnut festival annually. From here we can and do explore local, regional and international places. In particular we love to explore the province of Viterbo and our region of Tuscia where in a day if you so choose a journey from the Etruscan world to the Roman, Medieval and Renaissance world is possible.

Visits to Rome are weekly events as are sojourns into nearby Umbria and southern Tuscany where we indulge among other things our love of food, taking with us the Slow Food Osteria d’italia book, described by one Italian as a book that is crucial to eating in Italy or as he said recently “non si sopraviva senza questo libro”…one does not survive without this book!

About about noel's travels

I live in Brisbane for 8 months a year and am based in Soriano nel Cimino, Italy for the other 4 months a year. I love to travel, to explore, to learn. I love cooking and eating food!
This entry was posted in Soriano nel Cimino, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment